Stages of cancer of the stomach

Gastric cancer is one of the most common neoplasms that affect the most important organ of the digestive system. Up to 90% of all gastric tumors account for his share. This disease is common worldwide, although in recent years in some countries, the incidence of these tumors has decreased slightly, it still is an important medical and social problem. The incidence of stomach cancer ranks first among malignant tumors. Many people die from this insidious disease.

Just distinguish four stages of stomach cancer. Let us consider each of them:

• I stage

The first stage is formed clearly limited, the small size of the tumor. Typically, it is located in the thickness of the submucosal basis or gastric mucosa. In the regional lymph node metastases are absent.

• Stage II

Stomach still maintains the mobility, however, the tumor is already grows in the muscle membrane. Ceresney cover is still not affected, but in regional lymph nodes near the affected place can be formed of a single metastasis.

• Stage III

The significant size of the tumor beyond the walls of the stomach. It solders adjacent organs or grows into them, thereby sharply limiting the mobility of the stomach. The tumor may be smaller, but its multiple metastases affect the regional lymph nodes.

• Stage IV

The tumor may be of any kind and any size, but there are distant metastases.

Classification the TNM system is more detailed and objective. It was proposed International cancer Alliance. The system was approved by the who. The classification is based on the data obtained by conducting postmortem, endoscopic, radiological and clinical research remote drug. For more accurate determination of the location of the tumor, the stomach is divided into anatomical sections. Three of them: the antrum (lower third), the body of the stomach (middle third) and proximal (upper third). Typically, when the diagnosis of a tumor refers to the Department, which is a large part of the tumor. In this classification, it is customary to use the notation:

• on the basis of T, primary tumor (Tis, Tl, T2, TK, T4);

• on the basis of N, the presence of regional lymph nodes (NX, NO, N1, N2);

• on the basis of M, the presence of distant metastasis (MX, MO, Ml);

• on the basis of G, histopathological differentiation (GX, G1, G2, G3, G4).

Subscribe to new posts: